Noob Questions: Game Data and Assets

Hi, Tom Hendrich here and I’m new to Foundry.

I’m trying to figure out where images/assets are stored in the Forge cloud.

Local Data vs. Forge Data?

Conceptually, what's the difference between the local data folder for Foundry (local version) and the data that Foundry on Forge uses?

When I'm on Forge and Edit World, and try to upload Background Image, it looks for the User Data. Where is this located? Is this local or on the Forge server?

Game Data vs. Assets

On Forge, what is the Game Data for?

On Forge, what are the assets for?

Where can I find the folder(s) for Game Data?

Thank you in advance for your help!

1 Like

Hello, a lot of questions here ^^

Let’s cover the basics first.

Game Data vs. Assets

Your game data is as following:

Modules, systems, worlds.

This means that if you upload a module (not from bazaar) it will take game data. We have the bazaar though, so you don’t have to worry too much about using too many modules. An expanding world is also fair, and 500MB should be enough to cover all your needs in that area.

Your assets are:

All media files.

Picture files: “jpg”, “jpeg”, “png”, “apng”, “svg”, “webp”, “gif”
Video files: “mp4”, “ogg”, “webm”, “m4v”
Sound files: “flac”, “mp3”, “ogg”, “wav”, “webm”
You can read more about what the Assets Library is and what it can offer you here:
The Assets Library

Which is the cloud storage that you can use links from. This serves as the connection between files/images and your game, since you can’t use your local storage to connect to The Forge, but rather upload it.

Local Data vs. Forge Data?